linkedin

 OPINIONS & REPORTS

pci

9 rue de Valois, 75001 Paris  /  Tél. : 01 42 92 20 00

 

Legal & regulatory

Haut Comité Juridique de la Place financière de Paris

logo

Conception : Agence Isabelle Delacre - Copyright 2024

presentation.jpeg

 

Haut Comité Juridique

de la Place Financière de Paris

 

HCJP • 9 rue de Valois 75001 Paris

 

Insert title

Insert a subtitle

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipisicing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore et dolore magna aliqua. 

 

HCJP PRESENTATION

 

Created at the Joint instigation of the French Financial Markets Authority (AMF) and of the French Central Bank, the Legal High Committee for Financial Markets of Paris (HCJP) conducts and releases legal analysis in full independence. The HCJP is composed of lawyers, academics and other qualified individuals.

 

 

THE MISSIONS OF THE HCJP ARE THE FOLLOWING:

 

 

  • suggest draft reforms in view of promoting the legal competitiveness of the Paris Financial Center;

 

  • help and support the public Authorities during the negotiations of the European and international financial regulation;

 

  • strengthen legal certainty through supplying answers to legal questioning regarding all the financial stakeholders, both public and private. 

 

The HCJP work schedule is set at the beginning of the calendar year. The topics to be studied during the year are adopted on the proposal of the members of the HCJP and the guardianship Authorities. The task forces are then formed and chaired by HCJP members or experts of the subject.

 

A permanent team headed by the General Secretary takes over the organization and conduct of the works.

 

The working meetings gather academics, lawyers, experts, practitioners, representatives of the French Treasury, the Ministry of Justice, the French Central Bank, the Financial Markets Authority (AMF), the French Prudential Supervision and Resolution Authority (ACPR). They conduct legal analysis in full independence.

 

Once the work is completed, a report or an advisory must be drafted and approved by the HCJP plenary assembly which gathers all the members. It is then released on the HCJP website.

 

History of the Legal High Committee for Financial Markets of Paris

 

 

On January 28, 2015, the HCJP has been registered as a non-profit-making association, under the French law of 1901. Created at the joint instigation of the AMF, the French Central Bank and the ACPR, the HCJP represents a real innovation. The French Treasury and the Ministry of Justice joined also very soon the HCJP.


The strengthening of the attractiveness of the Paris financial Center required the introduction of an informal framework for exchange and convergence of interests between the various public and private market players.

 

The HCJP is inspired by the Financial Market Law Committee (FMLC) in London. It pursues the same desire for consensus and independence from special. Initially entrusted to Michel Prada, Honorary General Inspector of Finance and former Chairman of the AMF, the chairmanship of the HCJP was then handed over to Guy Canivet in 2016, First Honorary President of the Cour de cassation and former member of the Conseil constitutionnel. To date, the HCJP is chaired by Gérard Rameix, Honorary Master auditor of the Cour des comptes and former Chairman of the AMF.

 

Central secretariat was entrusted to Gérard Gardella, former Judge and previously Société Générale Group’s General Counsel. Originally composed of twelve expert members, the HCJP now has eighteen members (lawyers, academics and other qualified individuals). Task forces gather hundreds of contributors each year.

 

The work of the HCJP has gained importance, as evidenced by the growing number of reports and proposals that have led to legislative or regulatory amendments.

 

The role of the AMF and the French Central Bank in the Legal High Committee for Financial Markets of Paris

 

 

The creation of a legal committee for fnancial markets was decided in connection with the AMF’s 2013-2016 strategic plan with the aim of re-establishing a bond between market players to participate more effectively in European regulation. Because of their active role in the creation of the HCJP, the French Central Bank and the AMF have the special status of "ex-officio members" of the association. The Franch Banqing supervisory Body, the ACPR, joined the process at its beginning.

 

As a reminder, the AMF is an independent public authority responsible for ensuring that savings invested in financial products are protected, providing investors with adequate information and supervising the orderly operation of markets. The French Central Bank is organized around three main missions: monetary strategy, financial stability and economic service to the community.

 

By pooling their material and technical resources within the HCJP, the three entities provide, in addition to financial support, an advisory role within the HCJP. Robert Ophèle, then Deputy Governor of the French Central Bank, saw this committee as an entity where “work would be conducted completely independently and that would enable regulators to have a forum where different ideas in the legal area can be debated”. Gérard Rameix, then Chairman of the AMF, emphasized the role of the HCJP, which must “facilitate coordination between regulatory issues and legal work of an academic character, useful to regulators”.

 

The AMF, the French Central Bank, the ACPR, The French Treasory and the French Ministry of Justice are therefore full players in the task forces and take part in the HCJP plenary assemblies.

 PRESS RELEASE

03/02/15 - First meeting of the Legal High Committee for Financial Markets of Paris created by the AMF and the French Central Bank.

CO01A - Press Release   ➡ Download

Create Website with flazio.com | Free and Easy Website Builder

linkedin

AVIS & RAPPORTS

pci

9 rue de Valois, 75001 Paris / Tél. : 01 42 92 20 00

 

Mentions Légales / Statuts / Règlement intérieur

Haut Comité Juridique de la Place financière de Paris

logo

Conception : Agence Isabelle Delacre - Copyright 2024

presentation.jpegpresentation.jpeg

 

Haut Comité Juridique

de la Place Financière de Paris

 

HCJP • 9 rue de Valois 75001 Paris

 

PRÉSENTATION DU HCJP

 

Créé sous l’impulsion de l’AMF et de la Banque de France, le Haut Comité Juridique de la Place Financière de Paris (HCJP) réalise, en toute indépendance, des analyses juridiques et les rend publiques. Il est composé d’avocats, d’universitaires et d’autres personnalités qualifiées.

 

 

LE HCJP A POUR MISSION :

 

  • de proposer des projets de réforme à même de promouvoir la compétitivité juridique de la Place financière de Paris ;

 

  • d’aider et d’accompagner les Autorités publiques dans le cadre des travaux de négociation des textes européens et internationaux ;

 

  • de renforcer la sécurité juridique en fournissant des réponses à des questions intéressant l’ensemble des acteurs financiers à la fois publics et privés.

 

Le calendrier des travaux du HCJP est fixé au début de l’année calendaire. Les thèmes qui seront étudiés au cours de l’année sont adoptés sur proposition des membres du HCJP et des Autorités tutélaires. Les groupes de travail sont ensuite constitués et présidés par des membres du HCJP ou par des experts du sujet.

 

L’organisation et l’animation des travaux relèvent d’une équipe permanente dirigée par le Secrétaire général.

 

Les réunions de travail rassemblent universitaires, avocats, experts, praticiens, représentants du Trésor, de la Chancellerie, de la Banque de France, de l’Autorité des Marchés Financiers (AMF), de l’Autorité de Contrôle Prudentiel et de Résolution (ACPR). Ceux-ci réalisent en toute indépendance des analyses juridiques.

 

Une fois les travaux aboutis, un rapport ou avis doit être rédigé et approuvé par l’assemblée plénière du HCJP, qui réunit l’ensemble des membres. Il est ensuite rendu public sur le site internet du HCJP.

L’historique du Haut Comité Juridique de la Place Financière de Paris

 

 

Le HCJP est une association régie par loi du 1ᵉʳ juillet 1901 qui a vu le jour le 28 janvier 2015. Créé sous l’impulsion de l’AMF, de la Banque de France et de l’ACPR, le HCJP constitue une véritable innovation. Le Trésor et la Chancellerie ont ensuite rapidement rejoint le HCJP.


Le renforcement de l’attractivité de la Place financière de Paris impliquait en effet la mise en place d’un cadre non officiel d’échange et de convergence des positions entre les différents acteurs publics et privés du marché.


Le HCJP est inspiré du Financial Market Law Committee (FMLC) de Londres. Il poursuit la même volonté de consensus et d’indépendance vis-à-vis des intérêts particuliers. Initialement confiée à Michel Prada, Inspecteur Général des Finances Honoraire et ancien Président de l’AMF, la présidence du HCJP a ensuite été transmise en 2016 à Guy Canivet, Premier Président Honoraire de la Cour de cassation et ancien membre du Conseil constitutionnel. À ce jour, le HCJP est présidé par Gérard Rameix, Conseiller-maître honoraire à la Cour des comptes et ancien Président de l’AMF.

 

Le secrétariat général du HCJP est assuré par Gérard Gardella, ancien Magistrat et précédemment Directeur Juridique du groupe Société Générale. Composé à l’origine de douze membres experts, le HCJP en compte à présent dix-huit (avocats, magistrats, universitaires et autres personnalités qualifiées). Les groupes de réflexion réunissent généralement chacun une quinzaine de contributeurs. Dix à quinze groupes mènent en permanence des travaux de ce type, ce qui représente au total un grand nombre de contributeurs de la Place.

 

Les travaux du HCJP ont pris de l’ampleur, comme en témoigne le nombre croissant de rapports et de propositions donnant lieu à des modifications de textes législatifs ou réglementaires.

Le rôle de l’AMF et de la Banque de France

au sein du Haut Comité Juridique de la Place Financière de Paris

 

 

La constitution d’un comité juridique de Place avait été décidée à l’occasion du plan stratégique 2013-2016 de l’AMF avec pour objectif de refonder le lien entre les acteurs de la Place et participer ainsi plus efficacement à la régulation européenne. En raison de leur rôle actif dans la création du HCJP, la Banque de France et l’AMF bénéficient du statut particulier de « membres de droit » de l’association. L’ACPR s’est jointe dès l’origine au HCJP.

 

Pour rappel, l’AMF est une autorité publique indépendante qui a pour mission de veiller à la protection de l’épargne investie en produits financiers, à l’information des investisseurs et au bon fonctionnement des marchés. La Banque de France est quant à elle organisée autour de trois grandes missions que sont la stratégie monétaire, la stabilité financière et le service économique à la collectivité. L’ACPR est l’Autorité française de contrôle et de surveillance des banques.

 

En regroupant leurs moyens matériels et techniques au sein du HCJP, les trois entités assurent, en plus d’un soutien financier, un rôle consultatif au sein du HCJP. Robert Ophèle, à l’époque Sous-Gouverneur de la Banque de France, concevait ce comité comme une entité où « se conduiraient des travaux en toute indépendance et qui permettrait aux régulateurs de disposer d’un lieu de confrontation des idées dans le domaine juridique ». Gérard Rameix, alors Président de l’AMF, soulignait quant à lui le rôle du HCJP qui doit « faciliter le lien entre les tâches de régulations et les travaux juridiques de nature académique, utiles aux régulateurs ».

 

L’AMF, Banque de France et l’ACPR, auxquelles se sont joints le Trésor et le Ministère de la Justice sont donc des acteurs à part entière des groupes de travail et participent aux assemblées plénières du HCJP.

COMMUNIQUÉS DE PRESSE

 

28/01/19  -  Gérard Rameix, nouveau Président du Haut Comité Juridique de la Place Financière de Paris

CO05 - Communiqué   ➡  Télécharger

 

 

11/07/16  -  Guy Canivet, Président du Haut Comité Juridique de la Place Financière de Paris

CO02 - Communiqué     Télécharger 

 


03/02/15  Première réunion du Haut Comité Juridique de la Place Financière de Paris créé par l’AMF et la Banque de France.

CO01- Communiqué   ➡   Télécharger

Create Website with flazio.com | Free and Easy Website Builder